September 1, 2006

Men's & Women's Cross Country Teams Open Season With Wyoming Meet

Sept. 1, 2006

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The University of Northern Colorado cross country teams kicked off the 2006 season on Friday night by competing at the Wyoming Invitational in Laramie. The women's team placed fifth overall while the men's team, in competition for the first time since the 1983 season, placed sixth.

Running for the first time since the program was eliminated following the 1983 season, the new squad of Bears men's runners finished behind a field that included meet champion Air Force, Wyoming, Colorado State, Metro State and UC-Colorado Springs.

Junior Charles Hillig Jr. was the Bears top finisher, placing 14th overall with a time of 23:00. Hillig has been a two-year member of the Northern Colorado track & field team and ran unattached in several cross country races last season. Michael Trahan was next for the Bears with a 42nd overall place (24:02). He was followed by Alex Grimm (46th, 24:19), Shawn Monk (56th, 24:49), Ryan Woodman (65th, 25:35), Matt Provencio (66th, 25:50), Keegan Specht (70th, 26:18), Jorel Torres (71st, 26:27), Chris Turner (74th, 27:50) and Zane Whobrey (75th, 29:07).

Air Force's Matt Williams was the overall winner with a time of 22:12.

The women's team which features eight athletes this year, all new to the team, was fifth behind champion CSU, UC-Colorado Springs, Wyoming and Air Force. The Bears finished ahead of Metro State.

Individually, freshman Denise Kintzley had the most impressive finish for the Bears on Friday, finishing ninth overall (15:37). She was followed by Kellie Callahan (19th, 15:56), Katie Wiederholt (25th, 16:24), Colleen Sanderlin (26th, 16:35), Allison McIntire (38th, 17:32), Rachel Forrest (41st, 18:01) and Erin Apsey (42nd, 18:13).

UCCS's Shannon Payne was the overall women's champion (14:48).

The Northern Colorado men's and women's teams will be back in action on Saturday, Sept. 16 when they compete at the Woody Greeno/Nebraska Invitational in Lincoln.

Men's Team Results

1. Air Force            20
2. Wyoming              63
3. Colorado State       81
4. Metro State          98
5. UC-Colo. Springs    112
6. Northern Colorado   153

Men's Results

14. Charles Hillig, Jr.   23:00
42. Michael Trahan        24:02
46. Alex Grimm            24:19
56. Shawn Monk            24:49
65. Ryan Woodman          25:35
66. Matt Provencio *      25:50
70. Keegan Specht         26:18
71. Jorel Torres          26:27
74. Chris Turner          27:50
75. Zane Whobrey          29:07

* Ran unattached

Women's Team Results

1. Colorado State      47
2. UC-Colo. Springs    50
3. Wyoming             58
4. Air Force           82
5. Northern Colorado  114
6. Metro State        128

Women's Results

9. Denise Kintzley        15:37
19. Kellie Callahan       15:56
25. Katie Wiederholt      16:24
26. Colleen Sanderlin     16:35
38. Allison McIntire      17:32
41. Rachel Forrest        18:01
42. Erin Apsey            18:13