October 11, 2008

Cross Country Women Bring Home Title

Complete Results

HAYS, Kan. - Using a strong grouping of three women in the top six finishers, the University of Northern Colorado cross country team won the team title at the Fort Hays State Cross Country Open with 37 points, while the men's team placed fourth with 120 points.

Junior Kellie Callahan shaved over two-and-a-half minutes off last season's time to win the event with an 18:18.56. Junior Colleen Sanderlin finished the five-kilometer course in 18:38.27 to finish third and junior Brianna Spletstoser placed sixth with her time of 18:49.03.

Erin Apsey and Megan Horsch rounded out the team scoring finishing back-to-back and 13th and 14th places in 19:34.49 and 19:40.03, respectively. Jacqueline Lomax placed 17th in 19:53.31, Rachel Forrest was 27th in 20:24.04 and Adrianne Larson took 33rd place in 20:52.57.

For the men, junior Charles Hillig again paced the team finishing eighth overall in 25:26.32, while Dylan Hedges completed the eight-kilometer race in 26:38.36. Daniel Sojka clocked a 27:07.21 for 38th, while Ben Corchado was 43rd in 27:19.38. Matt Hernandez completed the team scoring in 28:08.27, while Matt Belasco was 56th in 28:27.47 and Joe Pummer was 61st in 29:05.05.

Northern Colorado takes next weekend off from competition, returning to the circuit on Oct. 25 at the Air Force Open.