February 26, 2011

Gutt smashes her own school record in 200 breaststroke

Saturday Results

LONG BEACH, Calif. – On the final day of the inaugural Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Swimming & Diving Championship, the Bears saw one more school record set and a host of other top 10 times posted as the team finished sixth overall with 247 points.

UC Davis won the team title with 726 points, while UC Santa Barbara was second, Cal Poly third, San Diego fourth and Loyola Marymount fifth.

Senior Tori Gutt continued her stellar championships, breaking her third school record after timing a 2:17.43 in the preliminaries of the 200 breaststroke. She breaks her own record of 2:19.27 from a year ago. Freshman Gina Riggle also qualified for the consolation finals after posting a career-best time of 2:21.84. She took almost seven seconds off her previous career best time and moved into second on the NC career charts.

Gutt then bettered her own record in the finals and also hit the NCAA "B" qualifying standard after swimming a 2:16.17 for sixth place. Gutt now has the six fastest times in school history in the 200 breaststroke, as well as the top four in the 400 IM.

Fellow freshman Renee Stephens qualified for the bonus finals after touching the wall in 2:25.47, which is good for seventh on the school charts. Junior Amanda Donegan also posted a career-best time of 2:27.59 to qualify for the bonus finals. Freshman Kaitlyn Sorensen, while not qualifying for the finals in the 200 breaststroke, shaved an unbelievable 11.5 seconds off her previous best in the event to time a 2:31.47.

In the consolation finals of the 200 breaststroke, Riggle timed a 2:22.09 for 14th place overall. Stephens improved her time in the bonus finals, swimming a 2:24.17 to move into sixth on the NC descending order list, while Donegan swam a 2:29.49.

Freshman Courtney Van Oost qualified for the consolation finals in the 200 backstroke, swimming the third fastest time in Northern Colorado history with her 2:04.70. Sammy Leonard also qualified for the bonus finals, swimming a 2:07.99 to move her into eighth in school history and Jamie Byrne joined her in qualifying for the bonus finals after posting a career-best time of 2:09.10 to take over 10th on the charts.

Van Oost placed second in the consolation finals and 10th overall with her personal-best time of 2:02.42, which moves her into second on the record charts. Leonard also improved her personal best time in the bonus finals, swimming a 2:06.25 to climb to fifth on the school's top 10 charts, while Byrne improved her time to 2:08.60.

In the 100 free, both Jennifer Smith and Kira Alger qualified for the bonus finals after touching the wall in 52.56 and 52.86, respectively. Smith's time ties for the third-fastest in school history, while Alger's time is ninth.

Junior Hannah Halstrom was the top Bear in the 200 butterfly and was an alternate for finals after swimming a 2:10.80, which is the 10th fastest time in school history.

Sophomore Tatum Boehnke finished 13th overall in the 1650 freestyle after swimming a season best time of 17:32.54, taking over a minute off her previous fastest. Junior Amanda Donegan also posted the 10th fastest time in school history with her time of 17:53.76 to finish 26th.

The quartet of Alger, Riggle, Van Oost and Smith finished the 2011 championship by posting the second-fastest time in school history and finishing ninth in the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 3:30.33. Alger's leadoff time of 52.39 places her fourth on the school's descending order list.

Gutt will now wait to see if her time gets her into the NCAA Championship in the 200 breaststroke, while Kelly Schmeckpeper-Cook and Sara Moldenhaur will continue to practice their diving for the NCAA Zone "E" Finals, for which both have qualified.