February 28, 2006

Four Women's Basketball Players Named To Division I Independent All-Academic Team

Feb. 28, 2006

2005-06 Division I Independent All-Academic Team in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

By Julie Dumler
Media Relations Intern

GREELEY, Colo. -- The University of Northern Colorado women's basketball team had four players named to the 2005-06 Division I Independent All-Academic team on Tuesday.

Heather Barbour, Bailey Dillon, Melanie Drangmeister, and Danielle Hagen were selected from Northern Colorado. The cumulative GPA of the 36-member all-academic team was 3.62.

Barbour, a junior from Highlands Ranch, Colo., had a 3.54 GPA in marketing. The 6-0 forward played in all 28 games this season, averaging 11.5 points per game and had an 82.4 percent free throw percentage. She scored a career-high 21 points on two different occasions this season against Cal State-Fullerton and UMKC. Barbour finished with 20 double-figure scoring games this season.

Dillon, a junior from Sterling, Colo., had a 3.61 GPA in business finance. As a 5-5 guard, she played in all 28 games and averaged 3.4 points per game. She also had a 100 percent free throw percentage. At Louisville, she scored a career-high 16 points and drained four 3-pointers.

Drangmeister, a junior from Albuquerque, N.M., had a 3.57 GPA in marketing. As a 5-11 guard/forward, she played in 24 games and scored a season-high six points against Air Force on Nov. 18.

Hagen, a 6-1 center, played for more than 20 minutes in all but three of the 28 games this season, totaling 798 minutes played. The junior from Sidney, Mont., had a 3.92 GPA in business finance and was named to the team for the second consecutive year. She averaged 7.4 points per game and pulled down a career-high 16 rebounds against Cal State-Fullerton on Nov.20. Hagen has started in all 83 games of her career and could break the Northern Colorado record for consecutive games started next season.

All four of the Northern Colorado players are part of the nationally-prestigious Kenneth W. Monfort College of Business, which became the first college of business to win the 2004 Malcolm Balridge National Quality Award from the United States Department of Commerce. It is the nation's highest honor for quality and excellence performance.

Each of the 10 Division I Independent schools has at least one representative on the all-academic team. The Division I Independent Women's Basketball All-Academic team was selected by sports information directors at member institutions. Nominations from each school were accepted for student-athletes who had at least a 3.2 cumulative GPA, had reached at least a sophomore athletic standing and were a starter or key reserve for the team.