March 7, 2011

Trio named to All-Conference teams

Big Sky Release

OGDEN, Utah – After winning a share of the 2010-11 regular season title, the Northern Colorado women’s basketball team had three players honored on the Big Sky All-Conference team, including two individual award winners.

Senior guard Courtney Stoermer was finally rewarded for her stellar defensive efforts throughout her career as the league’s coaches voted her co-Big Sky Defensive Player of the Year alongside Montana State senior Sarah Balian.

The Big Sky coaches’ unanimous choice for Freshman of the Year goes to the Bears guard D’shara Strange and she was also the only freshman on any of the three all-conference teams, earning honorable mention honors.

Sophomore forward Lauren Oosdyke becomes the Bears second First-Team All-Conference selection in Big Sky Conference history, joining Whitley Cox from last season.

Northern Colorado led the Big Sky Conference in scoring defense and field goal percentage defense, allowing just 59.8 points and .366 from the field for the year and a large portion of that success was due to Stoermer’s play.

Stoermer was also honored by the coaches on the second-team, marking her second time on the team. She was also named to the team in 2008-09. Stoermer holds the school records for minutes played (4,266), games started (118), steals (212) and three-pointers (175). She is also second in assists (415) and in the top 10 in both scoring (1,296) and blocked shots (74).

Strange leads all freshmen in scoring (11.3), rebounding (6.5), field goal percentage (.456) and steals (2.3) – a category in which she leads the entire league. Her total of 66 steals ranks third all-time in Northern Colorado history for a single season and it’s second on the school’s Division I charts.

Oosdyke became just the second player in Northern Colorado history to make more than 100 free throws in back-to-back seasons and is the team’s leading scorer with 13.8 per game. She is also second on the club in rebounds with 5.6 a contest and is fifth in the Big Sky Conference, shooting .458 from the field. Her 109 free throws made are the school’s Division I record and rank sixth all-time and her 53 steals this year are tied for 13th on the NC single-season chart.

Eryn Jones from Portland State was named the league’s MVP, while teammate Courtney VanBrocklin was awarded the Newcomer of the Year Award.

Individual Award Winners
Most Valuable Player: Eryn Jones, Portland State
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Sarah Balian, Montana State & Courtney Stoermer, Northern Colorado
Top Newcomer: Courtney VanBrocklin, Portland State
Outstanding Freshman: D’shara Strange, Northern Colorado

First Team
Katie Baker, Montana, So, F
Eryn Jones, Portland State, Jr, G
Lauren Oosdyke, Northern Colorado, So, F
Chelsea Pickering, Idaho State, Sr, G
Brianne Ryan, Eastern Washington, Jr, G
Rachel Semansky, Montana State, So, F

Second Team
Sarah Balian, Montana State, Sr, F
Katie Bussey, Montana State, Jr, G
Amy Patton, Northern Arizona, So, G
Courtney Stoermer, Northern Colorado, Sr, G
Courtney VanBrocklin, Portland State, So, G

Honorable Mention:  Chene Cooper, Eastern Washington; Julie Piper, Eastern Washington; Kaela Oakes, Idaho State; Ashleigh Vella, Idaho State; Lyndi Seidensticker, Montana State; D’shara Strange, Northern Colorado; Kelli Vallentine, Portland State; Kylie Kuhns, Sacramento State and Caitlin Anderson, Weber State.