January 18, 2006

Archibeque Named D-I Independent Player of the Week

Jan. 18, 2006

D-I Independent Men's Basketball Weekly Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

GREELEY, Colo. - University of Northern Colorado sophomore center Kirk Archibeque was named the Division I Independent Men's Basketball Player of the Week on Wednesday.

Archibeque averaged 25.7 points and 7.3 rebounds/game in three games last week while also hitting 78% (32-of-41) from the field and 76.5% (13-of-17) from the free throw line as the Bears defeated UC-Colorado Springs, lost to in-state rival Denver and lost at fellow Division I Independent rival Texas-Pan American. Archibeque scored 20-plus point in each game, marking the first time in his career he had 20 or more points in three consecutive games. He scored 20 points and had 12 rebounds (7 offensive) in hitting 8-of-10 shots against UCCS. Against Denver's All-American candidate Yemi Nicholson, Archibeque hit 12-of-18 shots, scored 27 points, had four rebounds, a block and steal as the Bears lost by six points (after losing to the same team by 19 a year ago). He finished up the week by equaling his career-high with 30 points at UTPA, hitting 12-of-13 shots (including 7-of-7 in the second half), while also grabbing six rebounds.

Archibeque earned the award twice last season, doing so in back-to-back weeks (Jan. 11 & 18).

Texas-Pan American's Larry Sheppard was named the Newcomer of the Week.

Northern Colorado travels to fellow Division I Independent Utah Valley State for a game this Saturday (7 p.m.).

This season, 10 NCAA Division I Independent men's basketball teams have joined forces to award Player of the Week awards and compile individual and team statistics. The teams are Cal Davis, IPFW, Longwood, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Savannah State, South Dakota State, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Texas-Pan American and Utah Valley State. Awards are voted on by participating team sports information directors and will be released on each Tuesday of the season.

Complete award winners for the year can be found by logging onto http://uncbears.collegesports.com/sports/m-baskbl/spec-rel/110705aab.html.