January 9, 2007

Wilson, Gable Named to NFF All-Colorado Team

Jan. 9, 2007

All-Colorado Team in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

GREELEY, Colo. - University of Northern Colorado senior running back Andre Wilson and junior center Jake Gable were both named to the 2006 National Football Foundation All-Colorado team that was released on Tuesday.

Wilson was named to the first team offense and finished the season with 1,027 yards rushing on 246 carries (4.2/rush) with five touchdowns. Wilson had five 100-plus rushing yard games and became Northern Colorado's all-time leading rusher ahead of Billy Holmes against Northern Arizona in the Bears' final game of the season.

He broke the record on a 45-yard scamper with 5:01 left in the first quarter and completed the game with 136 yards to run his career total to 3,561 yards. His season total made him just the third running back in Bears' history to post back-to-back 1,000-yard seasons. Wilson was named the NFF Colorado Chapter Player of the Week after his performance against NAU and also earned second team All-Big Sky Conference honors.

Junior center Jake Gable was named to the National Football Foundation All-Colorado second team offense.

One of the many who had a lot to do with Wilson's success was Gable, who was selected to the second team. Gable helped the Bears produce 121.6 yards on the ground per game. He also sustained a broken bone in his leg midway through the season, but his grittyness showed through when he came back to finish the year. For his performance this season, Gable was an honorable mention Big Sky selection.

The University of Colorado led all schools with five first team selections. Colorado College quarterback was named the Player of the Year, Colorado Mines running back Bryan Florendo was named Offensive Player of the Year, Air Force linebacker Drew Fowler was named Defensive Player of the Year, Colorado placekicker Mason Crosby was named Special Team Player of the Year and Fort Lewis head coach Ed Rifilato was selected as Coach of the Year.